Meeting with Gillian Attard

Gillian Attard is a singer in her own right and also singing teacher. At the age of 4, who already at age 4, her parents discovered her talent for singing, and immediately enrolled to study vocal technique. Here she is interviewed by Claudia Matacena.
How was your childhood influenced by your singing?
My childhood was practically spent running from one competition to another. I studied piano intensely every day without fail and I sat for all examinations for piano, classical and pop singing that were available at that time.
In 1994, at the tender age of 11, you published your debut album with 14 songs, one in English and the rest in Maltese. What was the inspiration behind the songs?
The CD came out when I was 13 years old after the loss of my beautiful mother. I wanted to express my sorrow with music and also wanted to dedicate the album to her memory as she was my biggest fan and supporter.
In the following years after the success of the first album, you participated in various musical events, including Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza. How was the experience and how did this lead to personal and professional growth?
My experience in Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza was an incredible one. Although It was not my first big festival I can say that I learned a lot from the other professional singers. This festival together with Ghanja tal-Poplu helped me gain more experience both as a singer and performer.
Over the years you have decided to open a school of singing ”La Voix Academy ”. How did you come up with this idea?
Well, I was being approached by parents asking if I give singing lessons. After thinking about it for a while I decided to give it a go. In the beginning I just started with few lessons here and there, which gradually evolved into something massive as today I have one of the biggest vocal schools on the Island with over 300 students.
Finally, any further plans?
My plans for the future….to continue my studies at New York vocal coaching with one of the world’s renowned mentors Justin Stoney and also to continue work at my school to help my students reach there goals.

