Meeting with Miss Malta 2016

I’m Christie Refalo and the title holder of Miss Malta 2016. I am 25 years old soon to be 26 and I live in Luqa. My career as a model, started about 2 years ago when I started showing interesting in doing photo shoots. Then by time I had some opportunities to work as a model taking photo shoots and doing advertising for some brands. Then all this lead me into taking part in my first competition Miss World Malta where I had placed with the top 5. This happened in May last year (2015). 
Later on that year I took in another competition that was not a pageant but rather an online photo contest. This was Face of Makeup factory and I only had to send a photo of myself. I was picked from 327 Maltese ladies chosen by foreigner’s judges. As all of the contestants were very beautiful, I felt very happy and pleased to be the Face of Makeup Factory 2016. Furthermore, last July I started my lovely journey of Miss Malta. Both my friends and family pushed me while supporting me to go and do the interview to represent my locality as Miss Luqa. In the morning of 16th July, I received a message saying that I was chosen to be one from the 29 beauties of Miss Malta 2016. I was extreme happy that I was going to be part of this big contest in Malta. Besides, I already knew that this competition was going to be most probably my last one as the winning model to be the ambassador in Miss Earth has to be between the age of 18-26 years. That’s why I committed myself in everything that was part of it. We took 4 photo shoot and as I said before I love doing these, we took a portrait, one casual wear, swimwear and finally elegant wear. 
Our team consisted of hairdressers, a makeup artist and a photographer. Only with patience and dedication we achieved a very great job, of course nothing would had happen if it was not for the director Mr Vince Taliana who had planned and arranged everything to the finest detail. He had helped us all in everything we needed. This journey also helped me to push my limits and open up more to my personality which helped me gain more confidence. We had loads of activities, for some of them we were invited by different localities in Malta and Gozo and other times we had rehearsals to perform perfectly for the show on the final night. The models were judged from different judges about our physique, personality, photo looks, effort, face, elegance and modelling. On the final night, even though I knew I was doing my best, I had never imagined that I was going to be the title holder of Miss Malta. 
Of course I wished to win but for me this was such a big event that I had removed the possibility that it would ever have happened. In my mind for me, this was a big dream to ever achieve. I was also given the sash of best in elegance and photogenic photo. When Mr Vince Taliana was going to announce the top 3 I was very excited but at the same time I felt that I was dreaming. I wasn’t realising what was about to happen. When he announced my name as Miss Luqa, I felt so emotional that I can’t explain how happy I was. From this experience I gained a lot and now I’m very looking forward to cultivate my responsibilities as a title holder. We have a year full of plans with loads of activities so that on October 2017 I can represent my lovely country in the Philippines in Miss Earth the way we deserve. Of course, I am always accompanied by the help of Mr Vince Taliana who is guiding me to new and wonderful opportunities. For this I wish to thank him again and again. Also I would like to thank my family who always support me in everything I do and never leave me alone.

