Meeting with Sarah Aquilina

Seventeen year old Sarah Aquilina is a young blogger in her free time, outside of her studies. Her blog was created in July 2014 as a way to connect with other like-minded people that share my love for makeup, fashion, photography and writing.
 
Here we ask Sarah a few questions:
What inspired you to get into the fashion industry?
As far as I can remember I have always had my say in what to wear. I started from a young age picking my own outfits and had quite a big say in what clothes I liked. Like many others I went through the ‘awkward’ phase but fortunately I found YouTubers that helped me go through this time! Upon finding the blogging community I began paying more attention to fashion and nowadays I get most of my inspiration from Instagram, personal style bloggers and magazines.
What do you think of the blogging industry in Malta?
I am quite new to the blogging scene when compared to other Maltese bloggers who have been doing this for a number of years. During the two years that I have been blogging, I have seen a numerous amount of new blogs being created. Although the blogging community is small, it is definitely on the rise.
What tips would you give anyone starting in this field?
I would suggest to start by doing a few simple searches in google for blogging tips. There is a plethora of posts related to this topic which range from how to start a blog, how to manage social media, how to take blog photography, lists of blog post ideas and so on. An important part of the blog is the name, so it’s important that it is chosen wisely. Next I would suggest looking into personalizing the blog by installing a template. The basic templates that come with Blogger and WordPress are nice but you can go a step further by finding ones for free or even purchasing one. The most important thing is to enjoy the content that you put up and above all have fun!
Finally, can bloggers really make a living out of this profession?
Yes, I do believe that bloggers can make a living from blogging although it is very hard to achieve. This most probably requires countless years of hard work, dedication and motivation.
Follow Sarah’s blog over www.whatsarahwrites.com
